Home Page


Listed below are items that children are required to bring to school: 


  • Collis book bag
  • Collis drawstring bag with spare clothing


The Curriculum – Areas of Learning


Collis Nursery follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.


The Foundation Stage Curriculum is based around 7 areas of learning.


There are 3 Prime Areas


  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development


There are 4 Specific Areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts & Design


As stated in the Early Years Foundation Stage Guidance, we believe in the following principles:


  • Every child is a unique child, who is currently learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to the individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.  The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.


For more detailed information, please download the Parents' Guide to the EYFS Framework.


Comments on Nursery by the current Reception children:


I liked book-time best. We changed our books on Fridays.


I really liked the cushions, they were soft and comfy.


I liked the garden best and all the play toys.


I used to make cakes with Miss Eadie.


We sewed a bookmark. We used a needle and thread. I put a feather in the middle.


I liked going on the school trip on a coach. We saw a show with pretend snow.


I loved the Guinea Pigs. We fed them.


I loved making towers with the big bricks.


I liked the bikes and scooters and running with my friends.


I liked playing with the snow animals and the African animals too.